Introducing Allergy Explorer

Allergy Explorer Gluten Free Site

Some time ago I had a thought in my brain box, a thought which I first believed to be quite simple.  Why can’t it be easier for me to travel around the world and find out where I can eat?  Surely you just have a website listing all the places that are Gluten Free right?  Is it that difficult to do?

So, irritated that that things were not the way I wanted them to be, I embarked upon teaching myself web development and set about building a solution to this problem.  Along the way, I realised there are a few more problems that were irritating me (not that I get irritated often).  How about when a new Gluten Free restaurant opens here in Berlin and I only find out about it 6 months later?  How terrible is that!  A whole 6 months I could have been stuffing my face and I didn’t even know it was there!  Nightmare.  Then, what happens when the kind folks at Dr Schär release a tasty new bread?  At the moment, the only way I can find out about this is by memorising their entire range and then, when I’m out bumbling around in gluten free shops, hope that I notice the new package.

The result of all this irritation, pondering, problem solving and fiendish amounts of hard work is Allergy Explorer.  My little digital baby that I am giving a (slightly premature) birth today.

The basic idea is that anybody can list a new business on the site, restaurants, cafes, shops, bakeries etc.  Then, as a community, we can visit, check the food out and then ‘Confirm’ the place as actually being gluten free.  I don’t know about you, but I’d certainly feel happier about eating in a restaurant that 40 other gluten affiliated people have already eaten in.  It’s preferable to just trusting that the staff do actually know what they’re talking about.

While the site is still a little baby and is a little rough around the edges, I’m only launching for Germany here on this blog.  We’re eventually going to expand to cover all of Europe, USA and other countries with multiple languages.  Imagine that, being able to get on a plane and know exactly where you can eat without spending days and days researching!

My hope is that you will all be able to help me build up a community, use the site, post a few reviews for places you have been and, if you’re feeling generous, post a little feedback.

Click to see Allergy Explorer for Berlin

9 thoughts on “Introducing Allergy Explorer

  1. I think this is a brilliant idea. My fiance is a severe coeliac and we are always a little nervous about travelling abroad, so something like this would be a massive help. I’m really looking forward to the moment you roll it out to the UK.

  2. Hello!

    This is a great site! So excited to go to Berlin again and eat lots and lots…when are you going to role it out more broadly though?

    I am living in Bochum and we have discovered a few coeliac friendly places…one is an AMAZING ice cream place where ALL the delicious, exciting home-made ice-creams are GF.

  3. Hiya! So happy to see this now I’m visiting berlin. Thanks a lot! Looking forward to see what other countries can be done! I live in bergen, Norway!

  4. WOW *:*
    Ich habe gerade deine Seite entdeckt und bin maßlos beeindruckt.
    Deine Seite ist toll strukturiert und bietet so tolle umfassende Tipps.
    Vielen Dank auch für den Allergy Explorer! 🙂
    Ich habe vor kurzem auch angefangen, einen Blog auf deutsch zu betreiben und würde mich über Austausch freuen –> gluten-tag-berlin.blogspot.com

    Liebe Grüße
    Janine

Leave a Reply

